Skip navigation

Standard Performance Evaluation Corporation

Facebook logo LinkedIn logo Twitter logo

The SPEC Achievement Awards

To accomplish its goals, SPEC relies on many volunteers who come from vendors, universities, research labs and other member organizations. While most of our volunteers are paid by their organizations to work with SPEC, many go above and beyond to ensure SPEC remains a premier organization that regularly makes vital new contributions to our industry.

SPEC acknowledges these members through its annual awards program, which includes three awards honoring different types of contribution, as well as the Kaivalya Dixit Distinguished Dissertation Award selected by a special SPEC Research Group (SPEC/RG) committee.

The SPEC Presidential Award

Ashley Cowart

This is SPEC's highest honor, recognizing one person annually who has provided outstanding service and leadership to SPEC over a significant period of time.

This year's SPEC Presidential Award recognizes someone who served as chair of the Graphics and Workstation Performance Group (GWPG) for nine years; has been a major contributor to every GWPG committee, providing insightful feedback and guidance on each benchmark (including workload definitions and development methods, graphical user interface design, metrics definitions, licensing clarifications, and fair-use documentation); and who has served the broader SPEC organization as an active participant in the board's Communications Committee, leading the effort to refresh the SPEC logo.

The Kaivalya Dixit Distinguished Dissertation Award

Lishan Yang

The Kaivalya Dixit Distinguished Dissertation Award, named in memory of SPEC's long-time president Kaivalya Dixit, honors outstanding dissertations within the scope of the SPEC Research Group. The award encompasses a diverse range of entries, including the design of metrics for system evaluation as well as the development of methodologies, techniques and tools for measurement, load testing, profiling, workload characterization, dependability, and efficiency evaluation of computing systems.

The SPECtacular Award

This award is for individuals who have significantly exceeded expectations in their contributions to SPEC during the course of the last year or over several years. It is typically given to someone who has led development of a new benchmark or tool, or has made extraordinary contributions to a SPEC committee.

The SPEC Impact Award

This award is given to individuals or a team that made significant contributions to a Group or a Committee.

The 2022 SPEC Achievement Awards